Be Your Own Kind of Beautiful Card Tutorial

Whilst I was sat enjoying my first coffee of the morning yesterday, I was hoping to get some inspiration for a project to use my Zig Clean Colour pens.  A little brown bird flew down and landed on the table next to me (no idea what it was, but boy oh boy did it have a set of lungs on it!).  It chortled away to itself for a short while, before losing interest and hopped off to scrabble around under the rose bush in search of breakfast instead.

I had a rummage through the crafty stash and found a flower stamp and bird stamp and the idea was born.

0001

 

From the crafty stash:

 

A4 sheet Kraft card

Watercolour card – 14.2 x 14.2cm

“Vintage Sepia” Versafine ink pad

Perfect Medium in pad; Ranger

Leaf stamp from “Layered Roses” stamp set from DaliART

Flower from “Flower Garden”; Stamper’s Anonymous

Bird from “Botanical Birds”; Craft Emotions

Bee from an old set by Prima Marketing, I don’t recall the name

Sentiment stamp; Inkylicious

“Gold” embossing powder; Papermania

Quickie Glue Pen

Zig Clean Colour Pens; Kuretake (Light Pink, Pink, Bright Yellow, Light Green, Oatmeal, Beige, Brown, Light Grey, Tea Rose, Flesh)

 

How I made it:

 

I cut a strip of the Kraft card, measuring 14.8cm wide along the length of the card; folded it in half to create a 14.8cm square card blank.

 

001

 

On the watercolour card, I stamped the bird in the bottom right-hand corner, and a mixture of the flowers and leaves in the top left-hand corner, using Versafine.

 

002

 

TIP -Versafine works brilliantly with watercolour paints, Spectrum Aqua Pens and Zig Clean Colour pens

 

In order to get a layered look, I made a mask by stamping the flower design onto a post-it and cutting it out.  I could then cover each flower in turn, to stamp the leaves around it.  I then stamped the small bee on the right-hand side of the panel.

 

 

I coloured the image using the Zig Clean Colour pens and blended the colours with a water brush.  I also added a thin grey line to the underside of the flowers, leaves and bird in order to create the effect of a shadow, to try and make them stand off the page.

 

005

 

Once the colour was completely dry, I then edged the panel using a Quickie Glue Pen and heat embossed this with gold coloured embossing powder.

 

I stamped the sentiment using Perfect Medium and heat embossed this using the same gold embossing powder.

 

006

 

I was not happy with how dark the bird looked, so using the water brush, I removed some of the paint from the bird and then applied tea rose, flesh and light pink, to make it appear a little brighter.

 

I stuck the panel onto the front of the card blank and then added some Glossy Accents to the bee for some added interest.

 

Here’s some photos of the finished card.  I hope you like it.  Have a lovely Friday and enjoy the long weekend 😊

 

007008009

Leave a Reply

